Overwhelmed, But Loving It!

Image

Charming little beauty, needing a bit of Refining love!

Overwhelmed. Yes. We are starting to feel it!  One of those overwhelms that is all great things all at one time, you know?  Hubby and I have been collecting some amazing furniture to REFINE over the last few weeks and we have a seriously tiny house!  For those space planners out there… less than 1000 square feet of cottagey tiny-ness!  (Yes I make up my own words)  Including my own we now have four hutches in this house!!  Four!!!  Also a few end tables, chairs and other miscellaneous accessories that I’ve been photographing, editing, resizing and uploading to the website!  No, no it’s not here yet, but hopefully soon!!  Jonny has also been working on a few designs for some really great furniture that he is soon to build!  I can’t wait to see them all completed!  If you know anything about Jonny, he is extremely talented and creative and an excellent craftsman.  The pieces he creates will be absolute works of art!  Can’t wait!!

So about the hutches.  We have this very lovely early 1900’s hutch that is in seriously rough shape.  It’s been moved from house, to house, to barn, to house.  It’s adorable, isn’t it?  It has the original glass with this great design painted on it.  Its like a garden trellis with a pot of vines & flowers. I’m not too sure how they did it back then, if the design is hand-painted or stenciled, or even pressed on somehow.  I don’t know, but the design is peeling horribly.  It looks great from a distance but up close you wonder how long those little potentially lead-riddled paint chips will hang on!  It’s kinda sad.  😦  I have a sweet spot for preserving history but also a desire to make things fresh and neat.  Let me know what you think??  Should I replace the glass panels and save the painted glass to embed somewhere else more safely??  Or should I retain the glass, scrape off the design (or parts of it) and try my hand at repainting???  I’m curious what you think. Also, any color suggestions for the hutch??  We are adding a top molding to soften the blunt square edges, it will help make the piece look more elegant. I know you can’t see the whole thing, but it really is in rough shape. The paint is peeling clean off the sides. Ahhh, my kind of project!  I’m really looking forward to refining it!  As of now, its gracefully sitting in my living room with hopes that the kids or dogs don’t bump it and knock off more paint chips!! 😉

Really the majority of the overwhelming feeling is organizing everything; between caring for our family, homeschooling the boys (ahh summer break) starting up this business, refining furniture, basic housekeeping and nevermind maintaining somewhat of a social life… yeah things can get overwhelming at times.  Our house is turning into a furniture warehouse. Some pieces finished, some in the refining process and some, simply waiting their turn!  Even though we are praying for a bigger house to support our family’s lifestyle, we can’t put this business on hold!  We are just going to have to make it work!  Here’s a few photos of our home in it’s current state soon so you can see the interesting ways we are “displaying” our product until the online store is up and running and items start shipping out! (for future reference the store will be http://www.therefineryfurniturecompany.com )

Image

A lovely little niche!

Image

Great little items atop the charming and peeling hutch in our living room

Image

Elk, Caribou… AWESOME!! I love this glorious driftwood treasure!!

Overwhelmed. Yes, but it’s really all great things

What God initiates, he equips us to handle.”  -Beth Moore in her book So Long, Insecurity. You’ve Been a Bad Friend to Us

While, I believe that this business venture is God-initiated, I am trusting that He will help us handle all of it!!

Love to all!

Becca

If you’re gonna dream, dream BIG!!

One more quote: “So, you can be overwhelmed and you can be underwhelmed, but can you ever be just… whelmed?”

Name the movie!!   I loved this movie when I was a Senior in high school!  I do have to say I still enjoy it now and then! I even have the soundtrack and probably still know every word!  First person to get it right (by commenting on this blog) will win a prize!!

About Rebecca@The RFC

Wife. Mama. Believer. Designer. View all posts by Rebecca@The RFC

4 responses to “Overwhelmed, But Loving It!

  • Chad Gosselin

    I love what you are doing guys…love your dedication, creativity and passion.

    10 Things I hate about you is the movie…too easy!!

    • therefineryfurniturecompany

      Yes, “10 Things I Hate About You”! I was wondering how many people would remember that one, great job!! Your gift will ship out tomorrow!! To the rest of you who might not have had a clue, better luck next week! I’ll do another contest with my next post! Awesome job, Chad!! Hope you have an awesome day!!

  • Irene

    Awww … I was too late! 10 Things I Hate About You! Enjoying your website so far — how wonderful to see you and Jonny using your talent in such a thrilling way! I am definitely a fan.

Leave a Reply

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Housewife Mama

A collision of product reviews, giveaways, faith, frugality and everything in between.

