What Is Milk Paint?

Answer: Awesome!  Ok, that would fail a Jeopardy response, but even so, that’s how I feel about it!!  Well, if you haven’t heard of it or were curious, its an ALL NATURAL, NON-TOXIC, powder-based paint that was used pretty much exclusively in the days of old… really old.  I’m fairly certain most of us weren’t born then.  This is before the “remember when they used to make things like…” It was before lead paint, before chemicals, only stuff from the earth. -oh, and cow.  😉  I’ve been using it a lot lately on a few of my projects (sorry, that’s why I haven’t been back here sooner) and I really enjoy using it.  It makes what can feel like mundane painting feel like art again!!  Coolest part is that it actually bonds directly to the bare wood and doesn’t require priming of any sort!  A fresh sanding and cleaning is all that’s necessary before using it!  Ok, I know, enough with the sales pitch-too bad I don’t sell it > oh wait, I do!! I’m Massachusetts’ newest retailer of Old Fashioned Milk Paint! Shop for Milk Paint HERE.    I’ll probably consume more than I’ll end up selling!! 😉

I know you want pictures, I would too.  So I’m including a few pics of a product using the Milk Paint.

  View the finished Mirror in our shop HERE.

This mirror frame was totally left to rot in a pool shed in Rehoboth, MA.  Rotting…literally.  I scrubbed it down and gave it new life with two coats of primer (I know, Milk Paint doesn’t need it.  But trust me, this frame did!)  After the primer I mixed Extra Bond with the Milk Paint to allow it to adhere to the primed wood and gave it two coats of Soldier Blue.  The Milk Paint has a velvety finish that is actually textured and oh, so visually dimensional!  Finally, two coats of the non-toxic sealer gives this velvety finish a satiny sheen that keeps it tight and resistant to wear, fingerprints and watermarks. It might be hard to see the finish in the pictures, but really, its fabulous!!!  (Yes, in my mind that was said like Jim Carrey as The Grinch!)

Ok, I went camera happy the other day and was inspired from my planter for this week’s quiz, a little tougher I think:  First person (by commenting on this blog, of course) to name the flower below gets the next prize.  Please just use the common name…I don’t know the Latin!  😉

Have an awesome week!!!

~Becca

“If you’re gonna dream, dream BIG!!”

About Rebecca@The RFC

Wife. Mama. Believer. Designer. View all posts by Rebecca@The RFC

One response to “What Is Milk Paint?

Leave a Reply

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Housewife Mama

A collision of product reviews, giveaways, faith, frugality and everything in between.

